sexta-feira, 29 de outubro de 2010

"Patanjali defines the mind as a dynamic composite of the activities that occupy it: 
deep sleep and memory
comprehension, misapprehension, imagination.
Each of these can either cause blockage or facilitation of Samadhi."

"There are eight components of Yoga. These are:

Yama: our attitudes towards our environment
Niyama: our attitudes towards ourselves
Asana: the practice of body exercises involving alertness and relaxation
Pranayama: the practice of breathing exercises
Dharana: the ability to direct the mind
Dhyana: the ability to develop interactions with the others
Samadhi: complete and dynamic integration with the object of attention"

"When an object satisfies a desire, it provides a moment of happiness based on valuing possession over loss. Excessive attachment is based on the assumption that it will contribute to everlasting happiness. Whether an object is perceived or not depends on its accessibility as well as the individual's motivation for interaction."

How to work on alertness and assertive_openness_trust_engagement as a joy of desire_attention_interaction and possible connection?*

excerpts from "Reflections on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali"
by TKV Desikachar
ed. krishnamacharya yoga mandiram
* added by Catarina

Sem comentários:

outros dias do caderno